Skip to content

Do You Pantry?

April 11, 2014

 

Photo by StearnsPhoto

This week: Do you have a pantry? What do you keep in it?

Until this house and the bookshelves, Mr. B and I never had much room for extra food. Sure, we had bags/jars of bulk food, and some basement shelves for home canned food (mostly jam). I never really felt like it was useful though; I wasn’t going to pull a meal out of that stuff unless you wanted pasta and cheese. Or maybe pasta and jam. You heard it here first though: functional pantries are in. Nearly every cook book I bought in the last five years has a section on food you should have on hand. Look at all the things you can make with just eggs and bread crumbs! Anyway, I’m inspired and want to make a move towards a more functional pantry.

In a move of way overthinking things, I spent some time looking around the inter webs for pantry item ideas. It runs the gamut from super bare bones to bomb-shelter stocked. I think I’ve come up with a pantry philosophy that works for us: our pantry should have anything that we want to use on Monday but didn’t buy on Sunday. That came to me one night while I was trying to fall asleep. It made a little more sense then, but I’m sticking with it. Since we live about fifteen minutes away from the store, and both Mr. B and I hate stopping after work, I want our pantry to not only have all of the stuff we use every week (spices, butter, oil), but also those things we buy a lot of yet always seem to be out of when it is 6 pm and dinner needs to get made (ginger, canned artichoke hearts, kalamata olives). Ideally we would also be able to whip up an actual meal out of the pantry too, but I’d be happy with Mr. B not needing to stop at the grocery store three nights a week.

Readers: do you pantry? What is your “pantry philosophy”?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2014 1:25 pm

    What do you make with just eggs and breadcrumbs?

    • April 14, 2014 11:43 am

      I went back and checked, and these actually aren’t together as ingredients. I guess if you are a person who likes eggs, you could make eggs and then put breadcrumbs on them.

  2. sue permalink
    April 11, 2014 1:56 pm

    yes i pantry although everything is in a cupboard. staples: canned tomatoes, garbanzo beans (for a quick hummus), tuna, artichoke hearts, soup for emergencies, olives, corn, refried beans, tomato sauce. i also have homemade pickles, dilly beans and chutneys for the occasional emergency party!

Leave a Reply

