Skip to content

Pillows and Fabric Love

May 10, 2013

IMG_0391

 

Finally, a satisfying home dec sewing project. Pillows! We got a passel of throw pillows when we bought this couch, but they never turned up post-move. I liked the pattern in our old house, but I don’t think it would have worked with our new living room colors anyway. The fabric is from the Timber and Leaf collection (I got it on fabric.com). I’m sure I broke some sewing rule by using quilting weight cotton for home dec, but I just love this fabric! Don’t call the sewing police, but I’m going to break the big sewing rule and use the third fabric to make a skirt at some point in my non-pregnant future.

IMG_0394-2

The covers are envelope style – an overlap in the back gives access to the pillow. I made two with continuous lengths of fabric (long rectangles), and two with the fronts and backs cut separately and sewn together into a square. I prefer the one piece over the three piece cases. They used less fabric and the corners look nicer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    May 15, 2013 5:29 pm

    I keep looking for the pictures of your baby tummy

Leave a Reply

