Skip to content

Window Seat of Doom

May 1, 2013

IMG_0370

 

Home decor sewing should be easy – cut out rectangles, sew together or just hem. So why does any home dec project I undertake look the very worst “homemade” junk? There is just a guarantee that the finished item won’t be square, or the right size, or on grain, or whatever. It’s a shame too, because home dec sewing seems like one of those areas where you can really save money and get a custom item to fit your exact needs.

IMG_0371This window seat was one of the more challenging projects I’ve made, which is crazy since I’ve done pattern alterations, hand tailoring, and fly zippers. Am I just a really sloppy sewer? The bias binding didn’t sit at exactly 1/2″, the top and bottom were off square, the corners don’t line up exactly, one side is possibly bigger than the other. Ugh. I sewed it all together a few months ago and it was soooo out of alignment that I just tossed it in the corner and ignored it for 3 months. However, this window seat has been in my brain since I designed the house, and I finally bit the bullet this weekend and ripped the whole thing apart and re-sewed it. There is only one wonky corner this time (happily hidden in the back), but I am just “meh” about the finished product. The zipper (also in the back) is really wonky. I don’t know if it is the foam, the way I stuffed the foam in the cover, or the not exact bias binding, but there i some weird ruffling going on along the edges. Technically, I should have also wrapped the foam in Dacron to make it puffier, but I was working with a budget and JoAnn fabric options, so the cover is a little rumply. In then end though it is done and fits the spot (thank goodness), and it is a comfy place to sit and look out the window.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom Jones permalink
    May 1, 2013 6:53 am

    Looks like a great spot to watch the late snow!

  2. Rita permalink
    May 1, 2013 7:31 am

    Looking forward to sitting there.

  3. sue permalink
    May 1, 2013 7:53 am

    is it wide enough for my butt? that’s all i care about.

Leave a Reply

