Skip to content

Works in Progress

April 26, 2013
tags:

IMG_0363

IMG_0362

 

IMG_0361

IMG_0360

IMG_0359

 

IMG_0358

 

IMG_0357

 

IMG_0356

 

I was originally going to add another hoop house post, but then I thought I’d just take pictures of some of the ongoing projects around the house. I realized that everything is a work in progress though – the house, the hobbies, the area around the house, the entire property. At first it seemed funny, then it seemed sort of depressing and overwhelming. When you have jobs and an endless list of projects and a finite supply of energy, it is easy to get overwhelmed by how long a simple project takes. Or how the “simple” project is unexpectedly full of complications. I made a curtain for our bedroom (a rectangle) and was shocked to find that it isn’t the right width at the top or the right length on one side. Should I put it up and accept its flaws, rip it apart and start again, or cut it apart to be something else? And that is just the curtain. I get jealous of the people’s houses I see that are done inside, or who have grass around their house instead of sand, mud, and dog poop. I have to remind myself daily that the house we currently have (or rather, the house in its current state) is wonderful, and that the last two years don’t count. We built a house, not fencing or gardens or bookshelves. Its OK if it takes us more time to get back to where we used to be at house in town.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sue permalink
    April 26, 2013 1:54 pm

    i feel overwhelmed by all that needs to be done around my house AND i didn’t even build it. what you and mr. b have created is truly an amazing feat. nice pictures!

  2. May 3, 2013 1:43 pm

    YAY!!!! Baby bump. Thanks for that. Seriously been pining to see it 🙂 And if it makes you feel better, my mom’s window seat that she had custom made and upholstered (using big bucks) didn’t have perfectly straight lines.

    • May 3, 2013 1:45 pm

      Thanks for the nice comments. I’ve been watching the Great British Sewing Bee and it made me hyper aware of all the short cuts and sloppy sewing I do. At least there is finally a comfy seat there.

Leave a Reply

