Skip to content

I solemnly swear that I’m up to no good

April 19, 2013

I met up with about the entirety of this blog’s fan club last weekend (hey ladies!), and there was a general consensus that this blog needs more updates. Which is true. Because we have been doing stuff. Mostly though, I’ve decided that these things aren’t worth showing on the blog (knitting, sewing), or are moving too slowly to have their own update. After the breakneck speed of the house building, I have a hard time writing a post that doesn’t cover an entire project. I promise to write more blog updates from now on!

OK, so update #1: We finally got a mortgage! Yah! It seemed like it would never happen thanks to last-minute skitishness about straw bale, but it did. The great part is that we are going to pay the same monthly payments for 9.5 acres-and-awesome-house as we were for our house in town. Building it yourself has payoffs.

Update 2: Side tables

This was one of those projects that I took pictures of but never bothered to post. Because our bed is in a bump out, there is only about 9 inches of space on either side. This made it impossible to find night stands. Then I saw this project over on Little Green Notebook:

Jenny Komenda via Little Green Notebook

Jenny Komenda via Little Green Notebook

Wall mounted beside shelves! Why didn’t I think of that? We still have a ton of primer and wall paint left over. We used these corbels from Home Depot, although Mr. B cut them off to be a smooth line instead of curvy:

IMG_0328

The shelves ended up being about 8 inches wide and 16 inches long – the perfect size for an alarm clock, book, and glasses. I found lots of great tutorials online about painting wood, but in my impatience I just primed them and then put two coats of latex paint on. Ta-da!

IMG_0331

IMG_0330

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

