Skip to content

Hibernation

February 1, 2013

Mr. B and I have entered a phase that I can only define as “hibernation.” We don’t work on the house at night. On the weekends we go to bed early and sleep late, Mr. B plays video games, and I bake cookies. We are waiting for the final appraisal on the house, but mostly we are just in recovery from building the thing. We talk about plans for bookcases and closets and the garden. I am having a hard time getting my equilibrium back. If I’m not working, I want to do NOTHING. Sometimes I knit a row and then put it down because all I can focus on in looking out the window (or watching West Wing). We have been doing a few things though.

1) Window trim for the four normal windows. Stained and ready to be finished. The woodworking never ends around here.

IMG_0314

2) Upholstery! I’ve been working on a window seat cushion. So far that entails buying supplies and cutting out fabric. I realized that I need to make 11 yards (400 inches) of welt cording and that has sort of put a stop to that project for awhile.

IMG_0312

3) Weird workout videos. Winter in Montana is roughly 6 months long. Most people embrace all that cold frozen-ness by taking up winter sports. In the past I’ve been an avid cross country skier. Last winter I never got my gear out of storage (too busy), and this winter I’ve been in hibernation mode (see above), so I’ve mostly been looking at winter. On days I work at home, the farthest distance I walk might be from the bedroom to the coffee maker, so I decided I needed to do something physical. I’ve been really enjoying the workout videos on YouTube. Tae Bo and Denise Austin are special favorites. Sometimes Mr. B joins in and we laugh at the crazy people while we flail around. We both feel justified in eating several cookies after this.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    February 1, 2013 10:02 am

    You both deserve the rest, enjoy it.

  2. February 1, 2013 12:08 pm

    Oh so cozy sounding. We love us some westwing, and work out videos around here. (My favorite is Julian Michaels). Only you would MAKE your own cording. Sheesh! That sounds completely overwhelming. Enjoy the fruits of your insane productivity!

  3. Mike. g. permalink
    February 1, 2013 10:53 pm

    Hibernation sounds good! I have taken up a Yoga class for old geezers, and have been to two classes. Really enjoy it. I like my teacher and she is sensitive to the fact that the older crowd is not quite as “limber”as it used to be. See you this week.

Leave a Reply

