Skip to content

It Lives!

November 6, 2012

Mr. B has forbade me from getting any more pets, but he’s out of town. I was feeling a bit lonely yesterday and thought that a bazillion little beasties would cheer me up, so I started a sourdough starter. This is day 2.5, and I’m starting to feel confident that it is actually doing something (bubbles), and that it might be full of the good stuff (it smells nice). I’ve been experimenting with the bread proofing setting on the oven to keep it warm, and I think it looks pretty happy. I don’t think you can even have a homestead without a sourdough starter, do you?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom Jones permalink
    November 6, 2012 6:11 am

    Amazing! Must have bread! Can they stay alive until yo get back?

    • November 6, 2012 8:23 am

      The directions say that after 5 – 7 days it should be healthy and ready to use. I’m hoping that 5 days will be enough to get it mostly healthy and then it can hang out in the refrigerator until I get back.

  2. mike permalink
    November 6, 2012 6:37 am

    but Mr. B. is a cute pet, and he hasn’t forbade you from keeping him! Anyway, homemade bread is the best. Mrs. G. makes killer homemade bread, and it can’t be beat. Don’t forget to send a picture of Tempe, we miss her too! We’ve also been trapping skunks, I’ll chat with Mr. B. about a pet skunk, they are actually quite lovable…….

  3. Rita permalink
    November 6, 2012 8:11 am

    I’ll steal some starter from you.

    • November 6, 2012 8:24 am

      Absolutely! I’ve been looking for recipes to use up what you have to throw away when you feed it, but giving it away would be ideal.

  4. John Brown permalink
    November 6, 2012 3:21 pm

    Absolutely correct! No self respecting homestead is complete without good SD starter. Crocks of sauerkraut and pickles too. Put those microbes to good use. They love it and respond like a rescued hungry puppy!

  5. Beth permalink
    November 7, 2012 7:54 am

    Was this a wild yeast one or did you use yogurt or something?

Leave a Reply

