Skip to content

The Secret is Revealed

September 23, 2011

We bought a tractor! Woohoo!

A 1958 John Deer 630 with a front end loader included, to be exact. It also has a PTO and three point hitch. We’ve been looking for a “cost effective” tractor all summer, since we realized that we would need to plow a 700 foot driveway in the winter. There really is no end to the use for a tractor out here either, and I’m already marking off the area we’ll be plowing for my garden (goodbye, rototiller). The tractor is technically a full size, or class 3, tractor, but we’ll be able to use attachments for class 2 (medium) or 3 attachments once we get a converter kit. Luckily for us, most people Mr. B knows have tractors, so we’ll likely be able to borrow any attachments we need for awhile. We bought it from Larry’s Tractors, Trailers, and More – if you are around Missoula you should really check it out. Larry is a great guy and has a ton of reasonably priced items for sale.

For those of you who thought we were having a kid: are you crazy? Plus, given the current child labor laws, I think the tractor is going to be more useful around the farm.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Gibson permalink
    September 23, 2011 6:13 am

    How could I have missed that? Mr. B. mentioned the tractor to me, but I have to admit astroturf just popped into my brain. Sort of like the Stay Puft Marshmallow man in Ghostbusters, it just jumped right in there immediately! I agree, I’m nuts, but I am a Dept. Chair and if I wasn’t nuts before I have all the excuses to justify it now………..

    BTW, the tires look in good shape. Have fun, tell mr. b. not to drink and drive!

    xoxoxox

    • September 23, 2011 7:07 am

      The tires are in pretty good shape, which is nice is they are not cheap. The front tires are actually truck tires to go with the truck axle someone put on.

      The Stay Puft Marshmallow man always pops into my mind as well, so let’s hope we never have to think of nothing 🙂

  2. Rita permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:02 am

    I knew it was vehicular but didn’t want to give the tractor away.

  3. sue permalink
    September 27, 2011 6:11 pm

    very nice!

Leave a Reply

