Skip to content

Food Magazines

July 28, 2011

When Gourmet magazine when out of business a few years ago, I pretty much swore off food magazines. While I know that there are a lot of good ones out there, the end of my subscription made me realize that I wasn’t really using most of my horde. Sure, I reliably pull out all of the Thanksgiving and Christmas issues every year (even though I always make the same turkey anyway), many of my go-to recipes came out of the magazine, and I love flipping through the magazine fresh out of the mailbox.

What I realized overall though, was that for the money I was spending I wasn’t getting enough actual cooking return. Except for the go-to recipes that I had tweaked to fit my usual ingredients (venison and kale, mostly), I was more likely to shop for the recipe than try to make it fit into my life. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, and it probably says a lot more about my cooking style than the magazines. Given the number of great online food blogs out there, I realized that it was better for my budget to look specifically for recipes that fit what was already around me, and save my money for a few cook book splurges every year.

However, two new food magazines have recently come out that are making me change my mind.

 


Honestly, I’m not sure that Lucky Peach is necessarily different than other food magazines, especially since I haven’t caved to buying it yet. The Atlantic named it the best new food magazine this year, but how many food magazines come out every year? No, I want this magazine because it sounds like a fun, rollicking, foul-mouthed magazine. As much as I loved Gourmet, the chances of my hosting any of those dinner, or eating in any of those restaurants was basically zero. I am probably unlikely to go many of the places in Lucky Peach either, but at least it is a magazine devoted to just food, instead of food and fine dining. Plus, who doesn’t like to laugh and roll their eyes at the ridiculousness of the food world?


Kinfolk magazine sounds like the complete opposite of Lucky Peach, and I’m not sure they could sit together nicely. Kinfolk is a collaborative effort to encourage a more natural approach to entertaining. Both a blog and magazine, the whole enterprise is comprised of washout colors, slow movement, and really delicious looking food. The first issue of the magazine has essays, photos, and recipes for eating alone, as two, or as a group. The preview makes it look like this is more about the philosophy of food and eating more than, you know, how to. I really appreciate that though. I recently read a comment string on a blog that completely knocked potlucks or asking people to bring meat for a BBQ. I feel like the foodie movement has gotten to the point where it has to look and feel like a restaurant (or be uniquely un-restauranty and trendy) in order for it to be considered worthy.
At any rate: how you do feel about food magazines? Do they enhance and inspire your cooking? Read any good ones lately? How do you incorporate unusual or seasonally abundant ingredients in?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. sue permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:28 pm

    cave in to the “peach” if only for one issue.

  2. sue permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:40 pm

    my favorite food magazine is “everyday food.”

Leave a Reply

