Skip to content

Huzzah!

May 19, 2011
tags:

Readers – Mr. B and I are officially Montana landowners! We closed on the property yesterday afternoon, and we also have building, septic and well permits in hand. Since I’ve thought of the property as “ours” this step doesn’t feel as momentous as I expected, but it still feels really good. Last night, Mr. B told me that he initially didn’t like the property. It was dumping snow, the whole property was covered with snow, we didn’t know where the gate was and I fell in a creek. I knew right then that I loved the property. Luckily for me, the property grew on Mr. B every time we went back.

To celebrate, I made a new dress to wear to closing. Pardon the somewhat distant shots – I made Mr. B be my photographer and this was our first shoot.

The Facts:

Fabric: “Darling Clementine” cotton lawn

Pattern: Colette Patterns Crepe

Notions: none

Wear again: Absolutely!

I’ve known that my sewing machine and I will soon be in a long separation period since we put in an offer on the property, so I’ve been desperately trying to get as many projects done as possible. This dress has been on my list since this winter when it was first released. I started sewing one around Christmas but quickly gave it up due to fitting issues and my belief that the neckline was oddly unflattering.

I bought the fabric a few months ago during a Fabric.com cotton sale and put it in a place of honor in my fabric stash (top of the pile). I packed the stash two weeks ago when we first thought we’d be moving out, but I kept thinking about Crepe and this fabric. I made Mr. B get my fabric out of storage last Thursday and spent the weekend working on the dress.

I love this dress! It has giant pockets! I know that the shot above would get me kicked off Top Model (she doesn’t have hands!), but I wanted to show how fantastic these pockets are. Crepe is a wrap dress that wraps in the back, which means that it is comfortable and somewhat adjustable without the danger and flashing everyone (what is it with wrap dresses?). The pattern is flattering (overall), a little bit vintage, and has interesting details that make it feel special. There are no zippers or buttons, so this is a quick sew. I made alterations to the pattern, and did all French seams including for the inseam pockets, a Hong Kong finish on one side seam, and still managed to get it done Tuesday by fitting in a little sewing every day.

I ended up redrafting the neckline to make it wider. I traced the neckline of a favorite t-shirt to get the desired shape, and I think that this makes the dress more flattering on me. Unfortunately, the neckline ended up a little wide in the finished dress. I also took about an inch out of the shoulder seam. A lot of people who have made this dress have made the same alteration – the shoulders are pretty tall, and in my last version were making me look a little like a linebacker. The top of the shoulders fit great now, but my alteration made the underarm sit right at the spot where the front of my arm moves. I need to go back and make the arm curve a little deeper, both for personal comfort and overall fit of the dress. Finally, I had to move the side bust darts down. I like how this dress turned out, but in a future version I would change the front darts to take in some of the excess underbust fabric. Even with these issues, this is still one of the best dresses I’ve ever made. Hopefully my machine and I can be reunited soon for  another version.

Well, I’m supposed to be packing. Mr. B and I are making the move into the camper over the next two days and I’m still not sure everything is going to fit…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    May 19, 2011 9:15 am

    Hooray! Congratulations on achieving the American Dream!

    Also, that dress is rockin’. I really like the colors and the back is lovely.

  2. Mom Jones permalink
    May 19, 2011 2:59 pm

    What a great dress! You are inspiring with all your house details, you still fit in a dress.

    PS. the yard looks great too!

  3. May 19, 2011 3:59 pm

    I’m glad we got to stay until the tulips came up this year.

  4. Germaine permalink
    May 21, 2011 1:40 pm

    I can personally attest to the exquiste dress. It looked beautiful on you and more than anything else just enhanced that joy and radiance that you exuded at the closing table. I am anxious to follow your journey.

  5. May 23, 2011 8:39 am

    Oh my. I am seriously loving that dress. If I ever find fabric, I’m coming back here for pattern inspiration. Congrats on the property!

Leave a Reply

