Skip to content

Hello world!

April 19, 2011

This is just a teaser post since I felt weird having the one automatically generated up here.

Hello anyone who might stumble on this blog! My name is Alexis and my husband and I are in the process of ditching our current life and moving onto a piece of land just outside of Missoula, MT. Perhaps some history is in order…

I still remember the day I decided that I wanted to be a homesteader. I was in high school and I was spending spring break on the Oregon Coast with a friend. We were being hosted by her family friends, and from the minute I met them and saw their property I was hooked. They lived tucked into a small clearing in the forest, with a self-built house, a small garden, and sheep in a pasture way up on the hill. Their son had his own teenager’s cabin. They had two fantastic dogs. Everything in their house was made out of wood and fit their specific needs. There was a pantry full of home canned food. My mind may have covered this family with a patina of awesome, but I knew when I was there that I wanted a life like theirs. My husband (we’ll call him Mr. B for now) swears that he has always wanted to be a homesteader, so the two of us combined have always been on a collision course with a piece of property. We have been squeezing every ounce of use out of the yard around our house for the last few years – huge garden, chickens, fruit trees – but it always seems like there is not enough room or we aren’t allowed to do something. Despite living in a state that only made NY times news three times in 2011 (2 for medical marijuana, 1 for “dead zone for iPhones no more”) we still can’t have a pig in our yard. Not that there is room for one.

We found the land, we made the house plans, we bought the camper, and we’ll be starting the whole endeavor in about two weeks. I’ll try and do a post or two about house planning/design over that time. This next year will be mostly consumed by building the house, so I’ll be documenting the process of building a post-and-beam straw bale house with some gardening thrown in as well. As we finish the house the blog will transition to include the day-to-day of animals, garden, orchard, and orchard grass eradication (my new mission in life).

Thanks for reading! I’ve included a picture of the property from yesterday – spring in Montana. We were out getting an estimate for power and it started dumping snow about a minute after I took this picture.

Property in spring

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:35 am

    Woo Hoo!
    I can’t wait to see how it all progresses!

  2. Rita permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:36 am

    Can’t wait.

  3. Brenda G permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:27 pm

    This is so cool! Now we have an excuse to come for another visit 🙂 I’m looking forward to the updates.

  4. Caleb permalink
    April 19, 2011 7:54 pm

    Looking good. I look forward to seeing the progress.

    Caleb,
    Missoula, MT

  5. susan melka permalink
    April 19, 2011 7:55 pm

    awesome!

  6. Sarah permalink
    April 22, 2011 12:56 pm

    Alexis! This is super cool. Im excited to get to read along!

Leave a Reply

