Skip to content

Baby Sewing Spree

May 24, 2013
tags: ,

Call it nesting. Call it pent up frustration at not sewing for myself. Call it spring fever. Whatever it is, I have been in a baby sewing frenzy over the last week. The projects are just so fun. You need so little fabric, they are quick, and I don’t obsess over perfection. Anything with a high chance of getting pooped or vomited on, and a wearing span of 3 months just lowers the bar a lot.

1) He’s All Boy Baby Cap from This Mama Makes Stuff:

Not quite as manly as the original plaid version, but nothing says “summer” and “total gentleman” like mint seersucker.

IMG_0406

 

2) Big Butt Baby Pants from Made by Rae

These are the most addictive sew so far. Really fast and cute. Doesn’t a baby need 20 pairs of pants? I made them both out of linen scraps I had on hand.

IMG_0404

 

The best part about these is the extra panel to provide more room for cloth diapering fluff butt. Bonus: the baby will blend in with our pillows when he wears the green pair.

IMG_0405

 

3) Katrina’s Wool Soaker and Longies

I’ve read lots of great things about wool covers (aka “soakers”) over cloth diapers, especially at night. You can make them short (like underwear) or long (like pants). I made these out of felted sweaters from the Goodwill. I would totally wear the purple pants in heartbeat – cashmere.

IMG_0403

 

5) All-in-One Changing Mat from Made by Marzipan

Not to get too deep into my diaper bag thoughts, but I can’t have my main purse be my diaper bag. I use my purse to carry notebooks and food to work, and I want our diaper bag to be something Mr. B or my mom can take. If I am required to transfer my wallet, phone, and keys out of one bag, then I usually end up without at least one of them later. I saw lots of comments about diaper clutches – a smaller bag that can hold a few diapers and wipes. This one is an all-in-one changing pad and clutch that I can put in my purse when we just go out to run short errands, or that can be easily added to the diaper bag (or not, depending on my brain capacity). The pockets are smaller than I expected – I can carefully cram 2 prefolds into one pocket, and a small dry bag, cover, and wipes into the other. I used iron on vinyl for the inside of the cover. Amazing! Instantly make any fabric waterproof and wipeable.

IMG_0401

 

IMG_0402

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom Jones permalink
    May 24, 2013 12:02 pm

    You are so freaking amazing and the clothes are too cute!!

  2. Rita permalink
    May 24, 2013 12:12 pm

    I agree with Mom Jones, freaking amazing and in only four days???!!!!

  3. sue permalink
    May 24, 2013 12:35 pm

    i”ll take a pair of the big butt pants for grownups please (in the green). nice job. they are all really sweet.

  4. Monica AG Craven permalink
    May 25, 2013 7:11 am

    wool pants are amazing! We use them all the time!

  5. nwdirect permalink
    October 4, 2013 2:03 pm

    ay! how’s fall over there?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

